Taking in the Exposure show

Went to the Exposure show this morning. This is the renamed Henry’s Photo/Video/Digital/Imaging Show, held at the International Centre out by Pearson airport. I got there less than 30 minutes after it had opened, and the place was hopping.

I met Henry’s president, Ian Landy, on the show floor, and he was beaming. He admitted to being a bit worried the change in name may have confused people, but initial indications are he needn’t have worried; there were lots of people there. He also was chuffed with the pro area – a huge section of real estate in the hall devoted to pro still and video gear, under the Headshots banner.

The show’s a great place to be able to talk with the manufacturers and get all the info you could possibly want. I went with a couple of specific questions and got the answers.

One of the questions was about the difference between Class 6 and Class 10 SD memory cards, and whether it made any difference to use a Class 10 if the camera manufacturer recommended a minimum Class 6 card for shooting video. He said to save my money; I wouldn’t gain anything by going to a 10 if a 6 was required. I would notice a difference if I used a Class 4, though, probably seeing video dropouts. The camera processes the signal at a certain rate and tries to write data to the card at that rate. If the card can’t absorb the data, some of it goes missing. I got this info from a guy at the SanDisk booth.

Bill Wood, at Nadel, told me I should promote the Lumahawk LED lights; they certainly were attracting interest. Glenn Webb at Webbsight was happy that Cokin filter products were once again available (he’s the Canadian supplier), after the company went into the French equivalent of receivership until it was bought by Kenko-Tokina in July.

Larry Frank – an old friend from his days at Nikon (Nikon School of Photography) — was toiling away at the DayMen/LowePro booth. Steve Sam was extolling the virtues of Sigma lenses.

Took a look at the new Pentax Q mirrorless interchangeable lens camera. My gosh but it’s small. It uses a small sensor, much smaller than used by any of the other manufacturers. I think I’d find the camera hard to hold without fingers getting in the way of the lens. The little Nikon 1 system is a bit larger than the Q, and the V1 version certainly has a decent heft to it, with a viewfinder that makes it far more usable as far as I’m concerned. The J1 version doesn’t have the viewfinder. I’m hoping to get a V1 in my hands soon for testing.

A nest of Nikons (Nikon 1s, that is)

The show continues for the entire weekend.

Leave a Reply

